Ordinary Girls

For two sisters as different as Plum and Ginny, getting on each other’s nerves is par for the course. But when the family’s finances hit a snag, sending chaos through the house in a way only characters from a Jane Austen novel could understand, the two drift apart. Plum, a self-described social outcast, strikes up an unexpected friendship with the class jock, while Ginny’s high-string mentality escalates to pure hysterics. Plum finally has something in her life that doesn’t revoke around her big sister, but what if coming into her own means she’s not there for Ginny when she needs her most?

Heartfelt, humorous, and perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Mlynowski, this contemporary take on Sense and Sensibility follows two sisters – complete opposites – who struggle to find themselves outside of the shadow of their late father.

I have never read a Jane Austen book. Maybe it was the pushing of “the classics” at school, but I’ve never made a conscious decision either way. But, when Harper Teen asked which upcoming books were of interest, Ordinary Girls caught my eye. The cute cover brought to mind a playing card, in colours I associate with the start of summer, it looks the perfect sunshine read.

And it was. One sunny afternoon with a blanket in the garden had me devouring Ordinary Girls in a few hours. Plum the eternal outcast spoke to my weird soul, while Ginny was the voice of my inner anxiety and pressure to perform. The relationship between them made me think of my own sister in the way the interact.

I throughly enjoyed Blair Thorburgh’s writing and have ordered Who’s that Girl.

But more than that I’m actually going to read Sense and Sensibility now! A feat that no less than 3 English teachers failed.

Leave a Reply